FG Retires 47 Military Officers


The Nigerian Military announced on June 11, 2016, the retirement of 47 senior military officers. Explaining the reason for the massive sack, the army spokesperson, Col SK Usman, said it was based on “service exigencies”.

However, it was perceived that their premature retirement was not unconnected with their involvement in partisan politics and corruption in last administration.

There were varying reports as regards the exact number of officers affected. The online news, TheCable puts the number at 58 while Vanguard Newspaper reported 200.

On Sunday June 12, 2016, Sarahara Reporters released 47 names and ranks of senior officers affected.

1. Ojogbane Adegbe, a colonel and a former aide-de-camp (ADC) to ex president Goodluck Jonathan

2. Mustapha Onoiveta, a brigadier general and a former ADC to ex president Umaru Musa Yar’Adua

3. Nicholas Achinze, a colonel and a former military assistant to the former national security adviser (NSA) Gen. Owoye Azazi (rtd.) and the former NSA Col. Sambo Dasuki (rtd.).

4. Maj Gen FO Ali

5. Maj Gen EG Atewe

6. Maj Gen Ejemai

7. Maj Gen MY Ibrahim

8. Maj Gen IN Ijioma

9. Maj Gen Koleoso

10. Maj Gen PAT Akem

11. Maj Gen LC Ilo

12. Maj Gen SD Aliyu

13. Brig Gen Onibasa

14. Brig Gen IM Lawson

15. Brig Gen D Abdusalam

16. Brig Gen Bashir Mormoni

17. Brig Gen ASH Sahaad – a former ADC to the late president Musa Yar’adua

18. Brig Gen Koko Essien

19. Brig Gen LM Bello

20. Brig Gen MG Ali

21. Brig Gen Oyefesobi

22. Brig Gen Ogidi

23. Brig Gen Fiboinumama

24. Brig Gen Agachi

25. Col OU Nwankwo

26. Col DR Hassan

27. Col TT Minima – a younger brother of the former chief of army staff Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah

28. Col CK Ukoha

29. Col FD Kayode

30. Lt Col Oladuntoye

31. Lt Col Adinmoha

32. Lt Col CO Amadi

33. Lt Col Baba Ochanpa

34. Lt Col Dazang

35. Lt Col TE Arigbe

36. Lt Col Egemole

37. Lt Col A Suleiman

38. Lt Col A Mohammed

39. Lt Col AS Mohammed

40. Lt Col Enemchukwu

41. Maj TA Williams

42. Maj General TC Ude

43. Maj Gen Letam Wiwa – a younger brother of the murdered environmental rights activist and author Ken Saro-Wiwa

44. Brig General Okonkwo

45. Brig General PE Ekpeyong

46. Col Audu

47. Lt Col GC Nyekwu



Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!